Call for PD Presentations at the PSTA General Assembly

The PSTA PD Committee is currently accepting submissions from presenters interested in providing PD sessions at the General Assembly. Based on previous feedback from our members, we are seeking presenters on the following topics (but not limited to):

  • Arts Education – visual art, music, drama, dance
  • Special Education topics – inclusion, adaptations, differentiation
  • Technology in the classroom – for beginners and/or advanced
  • General teaching areas – all subjects and all grades
  • English as an additional language
  • Practical and applied arts
  • Assessment and evaluation

The success of the PD portion of our General Assembly results from the engagement of our members. Please consider sharing your knowledge, interests, questions, and expertise with your colleagues. For more information, please find the attached form and contract.

Candidates for 2017-18 PSTA Executive and Standing Committees

The following members have been nominated for the 2017-18 PSTA Executive and Standing Committees:


Cary Pepper-Martens (Dalmeny High School)


Lana Abercrombie (Division Office)

Jason Brose (Colonsay School)

Janet Grant (Osler School)

Daniel Klebeck (Leask Community School)

Sherry Nadeau (Osler School)

Mark Perry (Warman High School)

Scott Woods-Fehr (Warman Middle School)


Brenda Epp (Rosthern High)

Jill Hartmann Proctor (Valley Manor)

Janet Jeffries (Valley Manor/Home Based Education)

Call for Nominations

The nominations for PSTA Executive and Standing Committees for the 2017-2018 year are now open for the term of one year, from July 1, 2017 to June 30, 2018.  The following positions are open for nominations:

  • Vice President  –  1 position
  • STF Councillor – 9 positions
  • Local Implementation and Negotiation Committee (LINC) – 6 positions
  • Communications Committee – 3 positions
  • Professional Development Committee – 5 positions

Nominations close from the floor of the May Representative Assembly on May 9, 2017.

Please return all nomination forms to:

Katherine Blake (Chief Returning Officer)

Please cc all nomination forms to

Elected as PSTA President

Dear PSTA Members,

Brian Knowles has been acclaimed to serve as PSTA President for the term starting April 1, 2017 to June 30, 2018.

Brian has served on the PSTA LINC team as well as on the PSTA Executive as the LINC Chair.  Brian most recently taught as an arts educator and Learning Facilitator at W. W. Brown school in Langham.  He lives in Saskatoon with his wife, Laura, and daughters Eloise and Georgia.


PSTA Councillor Elected – Heather Wolfe

The PSTA Executive is happy to welcome Heather Wolfe from Warman Elementary School to the Executive as our newest STF Councillor.  Heather was acclaimed into the position of Councillor at the Representative Assembly on January 11, 2017.  We wish Heather the best of luck as she joins the team representing Prairie Spirit teachers both locally and provincially.