About Us

The Prairie Spirit Teachers’ Association (PSTA) are members of the Saskatchewan Teachers’ Federation employed by Prairie Spirit School Division #206.

We strive to:

  • Further the objectives of the Saskatchewan Teachers’ Federation provincially and locally
  • Support the professional growth of members
  • Bargain collectively on behalf of members for a local collective bargaining agreement subject to the local bargaining provisions of The Education Act, 1995
  • Ensure effective communications between members and the Federation
  • Ensure effective representation of members in Federation affairs
  • Act as the official body of teachers in dealing with the board
  • Allow members a chance to promote their ideas and influence educational programs and affairs at the local and provincial level
  • Assist members of the local in carrying out their professional duties
  • Improve the welfare of our members
  • Assist in providing the best possible educational opportunities and promote the highest possible standards of education for the students of the division


The association was formed from the merging of the legacy associations of Saskatoon East Teachers’ Association, Saskatchewan Valley Teachers’ Association and the Saskatoon (West) Teachers’ Association. Members of these associations ratified the Constitution in January 2006. The Prairie Spirit Teachers’ Association (PSTA) came into existence on July 1 2006. The first LINC Agreement between Prairie Spirit School Division and the PSTA came into effect on August 27, 2007 after being ratified by members in May 2007. A second local collective agreement was ratified in May of 2010 and was in effect until August 2012. The current local collective agreement between Prairie Spirit Teachers’ Association and the Prairie Spirit School Division #206 was ratified on January 15, 2015.  It is in effect until August 31, 2017.

Scott Burant was elected in February of 2006 as the PSTA’s first President.  He completed his fourth term at the end of 2010.  In June of 2010 the PSTA Executive granted Scott Burant Honorary Lifetime Membership of the PSTA.  This membership is in recognition of his contributions to the association and profession as the first PSTA President.  Cindy Clarke, the second President of the association, was elected for subsequent terms beginning July 1, 2010, and ending March 31, 2017, at which time Cindy left to join the Faculty of Education at Brandon University.

In April 2017, Brian Knowles was elected as PSTA President. Beginning August 27, 2018 Brian returned to the classroom 40% and shared the remaining president’s time with PSTA Vice President Sherry Nadeau.

In February 2020, Scott Woods-Fehr was elected PSTA President in the first election for president in the PSTA’s history as a local association. Scott was re-elected in February 2022 for his second term.